My two cents worth

 

IF

Nothing that you have not given away will ever truly be yours. C.S. Lewis

I know what you are thinking, because it’s the same thing I’m thinking. I don’t have much. Not much talent or skill. Not much charisma. Not much influence. Not much time. Maybe you have money. Maybe you don’t. That probably matters a lot less than your other resources. But still, like me, you are sitting there and thinking, I don’t have much.

And, you say to yourself, because I don’t have much, it doesn’t matter what I do with the little I have. So I’ll just do whatever I want to do with it. I’ll do what pleases me.

And that’s where you and I are wrong.

And he sat down opposite the treasury, and watched the multitude putting money into the treasury. Many rich people put in large sums.  And a poor widow came, and put in two copper coins, which make a penny.  And he called his disciples to him, and said to them, “Truly, I say to you, this poor widow has put in more than all those who are contributing to the treasury.  For they all contributed out of their abundance; but she out of her poverty has put in everything she had, her whole living.” Mark 12:41-44

Jesus made much of the poor widow’s offering. He admitted her poverty but celebrated her commitment. She truly had little (you and I usually have more than we are willing to admit) but she committed every bit of the little she had. And with God, little is much.

Here’s the lesson. It doesn’t matter how little you and I have – a little time, a little talent, a little influence. It matters whether we spend it on ourselves or use it for the Kingdom. In the economy of the Kingdom of Heaven your little is magnified by the power of the Holy Spirit. It’s multiplied when it combines with the contributions of other believers. It’s celebrated by God.

So put in your two cents worth, but don’t throw it away on yourself. Spend it for the Kingdom and be amazed at how much your little was worth.

Lord, help me to think of thee and for thee; thou hast put me in this world for something; Lord, show me what that is, and help me to work out my life-purpose: I cannot do much; but as the widow put in her two mites, which were all her living, so, Lord, I cast my time and eternity too into thy treasury; I am all thine; take me, and enable me to glorify thee now, in all that I say, in all that I do, and with all that I have. Charles Spurgeon

Image by Zen Sutherland on Flickr. CC by-nc-sa 2.0

Leave a Reply

