Let me tell you what he has done for me: Psalm 66

Jesus-army-evangelism

Today’s reading: Psalms 66-69.

It’s easy to argue about facts that someone puts forward as supposed truth. It’s much harder to argue against someone’s own actual experience. Maybe that’s why there’s so much power in a personal testimony. It’s your eyewitness account of what God has done in your life. If you’ve never taken the time to write down the story of God’s salvation work in your own life, now is the time to do it. The Psalmist did just that in Psalm 66.

Come and listen, all you who fear God; let me tell you what he has done for me. I cried out to him with my mouth; his praise was on my tongue. If I had cherished sin in my heart, the Lord would not have listened; but God has surely listened and heard my voice in prayer. Praise be to God, who has not rejected my prayer or withheld his love from me! Psalm 66:16-20

He started by praising God.  “Shout with joy to God, all the earth! Sing the glory of his name; make his praise glorious! Say to God, ‘How awesome are your deeds!'”

He continued by sharing what God had done for others.   “Come and see what God has done, how awesome his works in man’s behalf ! He turned the sea into dry land, they passed through the waters on foot– come, let us rejoice in him.” The Psalmist told about God’s miraculous actions during the exodus from Egypt. We can share about the amazing things God has done for believers in our family, or church, or share stories of God’s provision throughout history.

He finished by telling what God had done for him. The Psalmist was in trouble. He cried out to God, who answered his prayer and poured out his love. There are many ways of telling your testimony, but here’s a three-part outline that I learned long ago:

  • Start by describing what your life was like before God saved you.
  • Tell how you encountered the truth about God. Where were you? How old were you? Who shared the message of salvation with you? This is a good place in your testimony to share a brief summary of the good news of salvation through Jesus Christ.
  • Finish by sharing how God changed you. What did you receive when you were made new in Christ? What did God get rid of? What good things came out of being born again?

I was a very shy and self-centered teenager before I learned the truth about salvation through Jesus Christ. I had always gone to church, and I knew about Jesus, but I did not know him personally. I had no relationship with him. Then I heard a group of young singers called The New Direction share something I had never heard before. They told me I was a sinner and my sin separated me from God. I needed forgiveness to have a right relationship with God and enter heaven when I died.  When Jesus died on the cross he paid the penalty for my sin. If I put my faith in him, I would be forgiven, would become a new person through the Holy Spirit living in me, and would have eternal life. That night I asked God to forgive my sin, and by faith I believed that Jesus’ death on the cross ensured my salvation. From that day on God has been working in me to take away my shyness and selfishness. He gave me the confidence of knowing that he would help me through whatever trials I faced. He gave me a desire to know his word and teach it to others. He has blessed me and answered my prayers. He has always been faithful.

Do you have a testimony to share? Please write and tell me what the LORD has done for you.

Image by Jesus Army on Wikimedia Commons, CC by 2.5

One thought on “Let me tell you what he has done for me: Psalm 66

  1. Pingback: Bible Daily Devotional – Psalm 66 – Let me tell you what He has done for me | ChristianBlessings

Leave a Reply

