Only and Surely: Psalm 62

8829503252_d1394cc22d_z

Today’s reading: Psalms 58-65.

If you need security, salvation, support, rescue, refuge, or redemption, then only in God will your soul find it, and surely God will supply it.

 My soul finds rest in God alone; my salvation comes from him. He alone is my rock and my salvation; he is my fortress, I will never be shaken. Psalm 62:1-2

Spurgeon called Psalm 62 the “Only Psalm” because David used the word six times in this short song. The word could also mean surely. My soul only (surely) finds rest in God. He only (surely) is my rock and my salvation. God is our only refuge, but he is a sure refuge. My enemies surely intend to throw me down, but they can only intend to do it. God will rescue me. Men, whether high or low, are only a breath, but God will surely reward each man for what he does on earth.

Only and Surely is a testimony to strengthen your faith. When God alone could have done something, then surely he did do it. There was a time a few years ago when my wife and I traveled to another church to help with a renewal service for the church members. The church had built a small prayer chapel outside the main building, and everyone said we had to go see how beautiful it was before we left. On our way home we stopped by the chapel, only to find it occupied by a group going on a medical mission trip. Not knowing me at all they blurted out, “We’re going to Haiti and we need a doctor to go with us.” In fact they were leaving in a month and had no doctor to go with them. Only God could have arranged such a meeting that led to my going as the doctor for their trip, and surely he did do it.

Only and Surely is a reminder that nothing else can substitute for God. We may try to fill up God’s place with money, but it cannot buy what we really need. We may try to use men to fulfill our desires, but people are no more substantial than breath and are gone almost as quickly.

Only and Surely tells us about God’s strength and love. God alone has the power to save us from sin and death. Because God loves us, he has surely made a way out of the shadow of death and into his glorious light.

Where will you find what you most need? Only in God. Will you find it in Him? You surely will!

 

Image by arbyreed on Flickr, CC by-nc-sa 2.0

One thought on “Only and Surely: Psalm 62

  1. Pingback: Bible Daily Devotional – Psalm 62 – Only and Surely | ChristianBlessings

Leave a Reply

