When God is silent: Job 19

12324690745_f45a07b3dc_b

Today’s reading: Job 17-20.

I believe in the sun, even when it’s not shining.
I believe in love, even when I don’t feel it.
I believe in God, even when He is silent.
++++++++++++++Anonymous

Job didn’t pen those words from the Holocaust, but he could have. He wouldn’t have written them at the beginning of his trials, however, for his faith was a work in progress. At the start he could only cry out to God.

“Though I cry, ‘I’ve been wronged!’ I get no response; though I call for help, there is no justice.” Job 19:7

He had good reason to cry. Look at all he went through:

  • the loss of his honored position
  • he was uprooted like a tree
  • he was alienated from his family and friends
  • even his servants ignored him
  • his wife found him offensive
  • children made fun of him
  • those he loved turned against him
  • he wasted away to skin and bones

He suffered losses in riches, relationships, respect, and health. You can probably find the hurts you’ve experienced among that list. I hope you haven’t experienced them all, but Job did. In spite of his losses, his confusion, his anger at God, and God’s silence, Job’s faith survived. He remained defiant.

“I know that my Redeemer lives, and that in the end he will stand upon the earth. And after my skin has been destroyed, yet in my flesh I will see God; I myself will see him with my own eyes–I, and not another.” Job 19:25-27

I don’t know the secret of Job’s defiant faith. I do know it serves as an inspiring example of what faith can overcome. What do you think was the key to his overcoming belief?

Image by David Pacey on Flickr, CC by 2.0

One thought on “When God is silent: Job 19

  1. Pingback: Bible Daily Devotioal – Job 19 When God is silent | ChristianBlessings

Leave a Reply

