A love letter: Deuteronomy 7

5415930030_d1d1552dc9_z

Today’s reading: Deuteronomy 7.

Dear God,
It lifted my spirit to open your letter today and read there about your love for your people. Sometimes I feel overwhelmed by your holiness and think that I could never receive your affection. Many times in these early books of the Bible I have read about your fierce judgments. Often I hear others talk about the priority of your desire to be glorified. But today, in your own hand, I saw these words and my heart soared:

It was not because you were more in number than any other people that the LORD set his love upon you and chose you, for you were the fewest of all peoples; but it is because the LORD loves you, and is keeping the oath which he swore to your fathers, that the LORD has brought you out with a mighty hand.

You loved. You chose, because you loved. And the word you chose to show how you love – the same word that you used to describe Jacob’s love for Rachel. That’s how strongly you love me. It’s the same word that describes how closely a craftsman applies silver and gold to the structure of your temple. That’s how close you want to be to me.

I know now that the God of the Old Testament loves as deeply and strongly as the God of the New Testament who loves so much that he gave up his only son. I see your grace at work even from the beginning of your walk with your people. Thank you for loving me as I am, without merit, and often unloving in return. Thank you that you remain faithful even when I am unfaithful. God, help me to love you as you have always loved me.

Legalism says God will love us if we change. The gospel says God will change us because He loves us. Tullian  Tchividjian

The maker of the stars would rather die for you than live without you. And that is a fact. So if you need to brag, brag about that. Max Lucado

Give thanks to the LORD, for he is good. His love endures forever. Psalm 136:1

Image by Nils Geylen on Flickr, CC by-nc-sa 2.0

5 thoughts on “A love letter: Deuteronomy 7

  1. Pingback: 100th day of Bible blogging | Bible in a Year Blog

  2. Pingback: The OT God is a God of love: Psalm 103 | Bible in a Year Blog

  3. Pingback: BIBLE DAILY DEVOTIONAL – Deut 7 – A love letter | ChristianBlessings

  4. Pingback: BIBLE DAILY DEVOTIONAL – 100th day of Bible blogging | ChristianBlessings

  5. Pingback: Bible Daily Devotional – Psalm 103- The OT God is a God of love | ChristianBlessings

Leave a Reply

